Transmission

Gas transmission system in Russia:

  • 170.7 thousand km of gas trunklines and branches
  • 250 gas pipeline compressor stations with 45.9 million kW in capacity
  • 22 underground gas storage facilities

How is gas transported in Russia? What is the Unified Gas Supply System of Russia?

Gas transmission networks in CIS and Europe
Gas transmission networks in CIS and Europe

Natural gas produced in Russia is pumped into gas trunklines, the most part of which are integrated into the Unified Gas Supply System (UGSS) of Russia. The UGSS is owned by Gazprom and it is the largest gas transmission system in the world. It is a unique complex of gas extraction, processing, transmission, storage and distribution facilities. The UGSS provides for a continuous cycle of gas supply from the wellhead to the end user.

Owing to centralized management, considerable ramification and parallel transmission routes, the UGSS has a substantial reliability margin and is capable of uninterrupted gas supplies even during seasonal peak load periods. The gas transmission system in Russia is 170.7 thousand km long. 250 compressor stations with gas compressor units totaling 46.1 million kW in capacity are used for gas transmission. The year 2014 saw the commissioning of about 1,277 km of gas trunklines and branches.

Paragraph Link

How is the gas pipeline operational reliability ensured?

Gas trunkline structure by lifetime (as of December 31, 2014)
Gas trunkline structure by lifetime (as of December 31, 2014)

In the 1970s and 1980s, when the gas transmission system was built, Gazprom provided it with a substantial reliability margin. Owning to upgrading and retrofitting of the gas transmission system as well as timely repairs of gas pipelines, the number of breakdowns since 2002 has been reduced by more than five times. Fewer breakdowns stem directly from the use of progressive gas transmission system inspection techniques and scheduled preventive maintenance operations, which enable efficient detection of worn out sections and obsolete equipment.

Paragraph Link

What is the capacity of Gazprom’s gas transmission system? Is it necessary to boost the throughput?

The Unified Gas Supply System is almost fully loaded. For instance, in 2014 a total of 627.5 billion m3 was pumped into the UGSS, taking account of natural gas supplied by Gazprom, independent and Central Asian producers.

According to the existing forecasts, gas consumption in the global markets will rise. For example, the Russian Energy Strategy until 2030 envisages that 885 to 940 billion m3 of gas will be produced domestically by 2030. Consequently, the UGSS throughput capacity is to be increased in order to meet the solvent demand of domestic consumers and Russia’s international obligations in relation to natural gas supply.

Paragraph Link

Is it true that Gazprom does not grant other gas producers access to the Unified Gas Supply System of Russia?

No, it is not. Gazprom satisfies all the requests by independent gas producers seeking access to the Unified Gas Supply System (UGSS), unless it cannot be granted for purely technical reasons. The main reason is the limited capacity of the gas transmission system. The interaction between Gazprom and other gas market players is fully in line with the Federal Law on Gas Supply in the Russian Federation, which sets the terms and conditions for granting access to free transmission capacity of the UGSS as well as entitles Gazprom to conclude supply contracts or reasonably deny access. Gazprom grants independent gas producers access to the gas transmission system in case:

  • the transmission capacity is available for the period when the producer intends to supply gas;
  • the input gas meets the required quality level and technical specifications;
  • the supplier has the capacity to funnel gas via supply and branch pipelines to consumers, all fitted with gas metering and quality control facilities.

The requirements for gas directed into the system to be transmitted, and the terms and conditions of access to gas mains are governed by law. In order to simplify access to its gas transmission system, Gazprom improves the Regulation on preparation and issuance of permits for independent entities seeking access to the gas transmission system of OAO Gazprom. OAO Gazprom first opened up its gas transmission system for independent gas producers in 1998.

In 2014 Gazprom rendered gas transmission services to 24 companies not forming a part of Gazprom Group.

In 2014 the share of independent producers in the gas transmission system of Gazprom grew to 121.1 billion m3 (versus 111.4 billion m3 in 2013).

Paragraph Link
Independent producers’ gas conveyed through Gazprom’s gas transmission system
Year 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
Transmission volume, billion m3 66,5 72,6 81,5 95,8 111,4 121,1
Paragraph Link

What is the current gas transmission rate for independent gas producers? Who is responsible for setting this rate?

For independent producers, the rate of gas transmission via the trunklines of OAO Gazprom is set by the Russian Federal Tariff Service (FTS). Before August 1, 2006 a single rate was set for transmission of 1,000 m3 per 100 km.

Since August 1, 2006 a new differentiated rate setting methodology has been used, when the rate consists of two components: a charge for conveying 1,000 m3 per 100 km and a charge for using gas mains (RUB per 1,000 m3), which is determined depending on gas entry and exit points in the gas transmission system.

Paragraph Link

What are underground gas storage facilities needed for?

Underground gas storage (UGS) facilities are an integral part of the Unified Gas Supply System of Russia and are situated in the key gas consumption regions. UGS facilities help smooth out seasonal fluctuations of gas demand, reduce peak loads in the UGSS and provide better flexibility and reliability of gas supply. The network of UGS facilities supplies Russian consumers with over 20% of total gas volumes during a heating season and sometimes over 40% during sharp cold spells. There are 22 underground storage facilities in the Russian Federation with the total working gas capacity of 72 billion m3 and maximum possible daily deliverability at the withdrawal season startup of 770.4 million m3. With the account of four UGS facilities in Belarus and Armenia, Gazprom’s working gas capacity amounts to 73.1 billion m3.

On January 31, 2013 Gazprom reached the record daily withdrawal rate in the entire Russian UGS history – 725.2 million m3 a day. The peak withdrawal rate from Russian storages exceeded 40% of gas consumption within the Unified Gas Supply System.

UGS capacity expansion is a strategic objective of Gazprom. UGS facilities created to smooth out seasonal fluctuations are several times less expensive than the respective backup facilities for gas production and transmission. Gazprom expands UGS facilities in order to raise the flexibility and ensure the optimum loading of the system. In September 2013 Phase 1 of the Kaliningrad underground gas storage facility constructed in salt caverns was commissioned.

The construction of the Volgogradskoye and Bednodemyanovskoye UGS facilities, the expansion of the Kaliningradskoye UGS facility and retrofitting of several acting gas storage facilities are underway in Russia. It is planned to start the construction of the Novomoskovskoye and Shatrovskoye UGS facilities along with gas storages in the Republic of Tatarstan.

Gazprom uses UGS facilities in Austria (Haidach), the UK (Vitol owned UGS facility), Germany (Rehden, Katharina and Verbundnetz Gas AG owned UGS facility), the Netherlands (Bergermeer), Serbia (Banatski Dvor) and Latvia (Incukalns). Between 2006 and 2014 Gazprom’s storage capacities in Europe grew from 1.4 to 5.4 billion m3, while the daily deliverability rose from 18.2 to 74.6 million m3.

In 2014 Gazprom went on with the Damborice UGS facility construction project in the Czech Republic.

The working gas capacity of the UGS facility will total 448 million m3 (daily send-out – 8 million m3), thus making it one of the largest facilities of the kind in the Czech Republic.

Besides, Gazprom is conducting a feasibility study of its possible participation in joint UGS-related projects in France, Romania and Turkey.

UGS facilities provide for securing reliable export supplies of Russian gas.

The operating gas reserve in Russian UGS facilities:

  • 2013 – 70.4 billion m3;
  • 2014 – 72.0 billion m3.
Paragraph Link

Транспортировка

Газотранспортная система на территории России:

  • 170,7 тыс. км магистральных газопроводов и отводов
  • 250 компрессорных станций мощностью 45,9 млн кВт на газопроводах
  • 22 подземных хранилища газа

Как транспортируется газ в России? Что представляет собой Единая система газоснабжения России?

Газотранспортные системы СНГ и Европы
Газотранспортные системы СНГ и Европы

Добываемый в России природный газ поступает в магистральные газопроводы, большая часть которых объединена в Единую систему газоснабжения (ЕСГ) России. ЕСГ принадлежит «Газпрому» и является крупнейшей в мире системой транспортировки газа. Она представляет собой уникальный технологический комплекс, включающий в себя объекты добычи, переработки, транспортировки, хранения и распределения газа. ЕСГ обеспечивает непрерывный цикл поставки газа от скважины до конечного потребителя. 

Благодаря централизованному управлению, большой разветвленности и наличию параллельных маршрутов транспортировки, ЕСГ обладает существенным запасом надежности и способна обеспечивать бесперебойные поставки газа даже при пиковых сезонных нагрузках. Протяженность газотранспортной системы на территории России составляет 170,7 тыс. км. В транспортировке газа используются 250 компрессорных станций с общей мощностью газоперекачивающих агрегатов 46,1 млн кВт. В 2014 году введены в эксплуатацию магистральные газопроводы и отводы протяженностью порядка 1277 км.

Ссылка на этот параграф

Как обеспечивается надежность работы газопроводов?

Структура магистральных газопроводов по сроку службы (по состоянию на 31.12.2014)
Структура магистральных газопроводов по сроку службы (по состоянию на 31.12.2014)

При формировании газотранспортной системы «Газпрома» в 70–80-х годах прошлого века в нее был заложен значительный запас прочности. Благодаря работе по реконструкции и техническому перевооружению объектов ГТС, своевременному проведению ремонтов газопроводов, число отказов с 2002 года уменьшилось более чем в пять раз. Снижение аварийности является прямым следствием использования прогрессивных методов диагностики ГТС и планово-предупредительных работ, которые позволяют эффективно выявлять изношенные участки и устаревшее оборудование.

Ссылка на этот параграф

Какова пропускная способность газотранспортной системы «Газпрома»? Насколько ее нужно увеличить?

Единая система газоснабжения загружена практически полностью. Например, в 2014 году с учетом газа «Газпрома», независимых производителей и производителей из государств Средней Азии в ЕСГ поступило 627,5 млрд куб. м.

Согласно существующим прогнозам, потребление газа на мировых рынках будет увеличиваться. Например, Энергетической стратегией России до 2030 года предусмотрено, что к 2030 году в России будет добываться 885–940 млрд куб. м газа. Поэтому пропускную способность ЕСГ необходимо наращивать. Это позволит удовлетворить платежеспособный спрос российских потребителей и выполнить международные обязательства России по поставкам природного газа.

Ссылка на этот параграф

Правда ли, что «Газпром» не пускает других производителей газа в Единую систему газоснабжения России?

Нет. «Газпром» удовлетворяет все заявки независимых производителей на доступ к Единой системе газоснабжения (ЕСГ), кроме тех случаев, когда это невозможно по техническим причинам. Основная из них — ограниченные возможности газотранспортной системы. Взаимодействие «Газпрома» с другими игроками газового рынка полностью соответствует требованиям Федерального закона «О газоснабжении в Российской Федерации», в котором установлены условия и порядок доступа к свободным транспортным мощностям ЕСГ, а также право «Газпрома» принимать решение о заключении договора поставки или о мотивированном отказе в ней. «Газпром» обеспечивает доступ независимых организаций к газотранспортной системе:

  • при наличии свободных мощностей на предполагаемый период поставки газа;
  • при соответствии качества газа стандартам и техническим условиям;
  • при наличии у поставщиков подводящих газопроводов и газопроводов-отводов к покупателям с пунктами учета и контроля качества газа.

При этом требования к качеству газа, подлежащего транспортировке, условия доступа к магистральным газотранспортным сетям определены законодательством. С целью упрощения процедуры доступа к газотранспортной системе «Газпром» совершенствует Положение о порядке подготовки и выдачи разрешений на доступ независимых организаций к газотранспортной системе ОАО «Газпром». Доступ газа независимых производителей к газотранспортной системе ОАО «Газпром» обеспечивается с 1998 года.

В 2014 году «Газпром» предоставил услуги по транспортировке газа 24 компаниям, не входящим в Группу «Газпром». Объем транспортировки газа независимых производителей по ГТС «Газпрома» в 2014 году вырос по сравнению с 2013 годом и составил 121,1 млрд куб. м против 111,4 млрд куб. м.

Ссылка на этот параграф
Объемы транспортировки газа независимых производителей по газотранспортной системе «Газпрома»
Год 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
Объем транспортировки,
млрд куб. м
66,5 72,6 81,5 95,8 111,4 121,1
Ссылка на этот параграф

Каков в настоящее время тариф на транспортировку газа для независимых производителей газа? Кто определяет этот тариф?

Тариф на транспортировку газа по магистральным газопроводам ОАО «Газпром» для независимых производителей устанавливается Федеральной службой по тарифам (ФСТ) РФ. До 1 августа 2006 года устанавливался единый тариф за прокачку 1 тыс. куб. м газа на 100 км.

С 1 августа 2006 года действует новая методика дифференцированного образования тарифа, в соответствии с которой ставка складывается из двух частей: первая — плата за работу по перемещению 1 тыс. куб. м газа на 100 км, вторая — плата за пользование магистральными газопроводами, в рублях за 1 тыс. куб. м, определяется в зависимости от места входа газа в газотранспортную систему и выхода из нее.

Ссылка на этот параграф

Зачем нужны подземные хранилища газа?

Подземные хранилища газа (ПХГ) являются неотъемлемой частью Единой системы газоснабжения России и расположены в основных районах потребления газа. Использование ПХГ позволяет регулировать сезонную неравномерность потребления газа, снижать пиковые нагрузки в ЕСГ, обеспечивать гибкость и надежность поставок газа. Сеть ПХГ обеспечивает в отопительный период свыше 20% поставок газа российским потребителям, а в дни резких похолоданий эта величина может превышать 40%. На территории Российской Федерации расположены 22 подземных хранилища с объемом оперативного резерва 72 млрд куб. м газа и максимальной потенциальной суточной производительностью в начале сезона отбора 770,4 млн куб. м. С учетом четырех ПХГ, расположенных на территории Беларуси и Армении, оперативный резерв газа «Газпрома» достигает 73,1 млрд куб. м.

31 января 2013 года «Газпром» достиг рекордной за всю историю подземного хранения газа в России производительности ПХГ — 725,2 млн куб. м газа в сутки. Пиковый отбор газа из российских хранилищ составил более 40% от потребления газа в зоне Единой системы газоснабжения.

Расширение мощностей ПХГ — одна из стратегических задач «Газпрома». Затраты на создание мощностей подземного хранения газа для регулирования сезонной неравномерности в несколько раз ниже затрат на создание соответствующих резервных мощностей в добыче и транспортировке газа. Для повышения гибкости и обеспечения оптимальной загрузки системы «Газпром» расширяет мощности подземных хранилищ. В сентябре 2013 года введена в эксплуатацию первая очередь Калининградского ПХГ, созданного в отложениях каменной соли.

В настоящее время в России идет строительство Волгоградского и Беднодемьяновского ПХГ, продолжается расширение Калининградского ПХГ и реконструкция ряда действующих хранилищ газа. Планируется начать работы по созданию Новомосковского и Шатровского подземных хранилищ и ПХГ в Республике Татарстан.

«Газпром» использует мощности ПХГ на территории Австрии («Хайдах»), Великобритании (ПХГ компании Vitol), Германии («Реден», «Катарина» и ПХГ компании Vеrbundnetz Gas AG), Нидерландов («Бергермеер»), Сербии («Банатский Двор») и Латвии (Инчукалнское). С 2006 по 2014 год мощности «Газпрома» по хранению газа в Европе возросли с 1,4 до 5,4 млрд куб. м, а суточная производительность — с 18,2 до 74,6 млн куб. м.

В 2014 году «Газпром» продолжил реализацию проекта строительства ПХГ «Дабморжице» в Чехии. ПХГ будет иметь активный объем газа 448 млн куб. м (при производительности 8 млн куб. м в сутки) и станет одним из крупнейших подобных объектов в Чешской Республике.

Кроме того, «Газпром» проводит технико-экономическую оценку возможности участия в совместных проектах в сфере ПХГ на территории Франции, Румынии и Турции.

Использование объектов подземного хранения газа позволяет обеспечить надежность экспортных поставок российского газа.

Оперативный резерв газа в российских ПХГ:

• 2013 год — 70,4 млрд куб. м;

• 2014 год — 72,0 млрд куб. м.

Ссылка на этот параграф